Dark sky observatory, chapel, meadow, school and community centre compete for awards

The Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards, Scotland's national civic pride prizes, are due to be announced on Thursday 28th March at 10.30 AM at The Lighthouse, Glasgow. 25 projects from across Scotland have been nominated for the awards and 5 people are competing for the Civic Champion Award.

The Awards, supported by the Scottish Government, celebrate buildings, landscape, public realm and civic projects that have had a positive impact in local neighbourhoods and delivered tangible benefits to their communities.

The Civic Champion category was announced as a new category in 2011 for individuals who have made a significant contribution to heritage or placemaking in their local community.

Planning Minister, Derek Mackay said:

"The Scottish Civic Trust's My Place Awards celebrate the real difference good architecture and good design can make to the lives of communities. 

"Scottish Ministers are pleased to support these Awards, which also recognise the important contribution made by committed individuals to improving Scotland's places through the Civic Champion Award."

Full details of the awards and all the nominated entries can be found at

Contact : John Pelan
T: 0141 221 1466
M: 07913 055705


The Merchant's House, Brechin
John Gray Centre, Haddington
Mareel, Lerwick
Scottish Dark Sky Observatory, Dalmellington
Olympia, Glasgow
Park Mains High School, Erskine
The Barony Centre, West Kilbride
An Cridhe, Isle of Coll
Patna and St Xavier Primary and Nursery School, Patna
Redlees Urban Fringe Park, Blantyre
Scotlandwell Wash House and Well, Portmoak
An Suileachan, Isle of Lewis
The North Kelvin Meadow, Glasgow
The Chapel of St Albert the Great, Edinburgh
Bill McLaren Memorial, Hawick
Burghead Visitor Centre Upgrade, Moray
Da Voar Redd Up, Lerwick
Scott-Wilson Memorial Sculpture, Kirriemuir
Calman Cancer Support Centre, Glasgow
Hillcrest Housing Association HQ, Dundee
Sir Duncan Rice Library, Aberdeen
Strathclyde Fire and Rescue Museum, Gourock
The Dale Bridge, Falkirk
The Old School Sensory Garden, Aberdour
Torry St Fittick's Parish Church and Church Centre, Aberdeen


Duncan Campbell
Nominated by Colinton Conservation Trust and Colinton Amenity Association

Janice Crean
Nominated by Kilmacolm Civic Trust

Cecilia James
Nominated by Lerwick Community Council

Andrew Robinson
Nominated by Haddington and District Amenity Society

Anthony Wolffe
Nominated by Galloway Preservation Society